Updated Monday, October 5, 2026

Rotisserie Chicken Prices by Store

A whole hot rotisserie chicken costs from about $5 to $10 depending on the store. The warehouse clubs are cheapest at $4.98 to $4.99 for about 3 pounds, but they need a paid membership. Without one, Walmart is $5.97 nationwide and H-E-B's Hill Country Fare chicken is $4.97 in Texas. Most supermarkets charge $7 to $10 for a smaller bird, so the price per pound varies far more than the sticker price.

Cheapest overallSam's Club $4.98, Costco $4.99, BJ's $4.99 (about 3 lb each; paid membership)Cheapest with no membershipH-E-B Hill Country Fare $4.97 (Texas); Walmart $5.97 (2.25 lb)Best price per poundThe warehouse clubs at about $1.66 a pound; Walmart is $2.65Most expensive per poundSprouts: $9.99 for 25 oz, about $6.39 a poundOn sale when checkedGiant Food $5.99 (regular $7.99) and Food Lion $5.99 (regular $6.99)CheckedOctober 2, 2026, on each retailer's own site. Prices are for the store named and vary by location.
StorePriceSizePer poundMembershipStore checked
H-E-B (Hill Country Fare)$4.97Not statedNoneVictoria, TX
Sam's Club (Member's Mark)$4.98Not statedPaidWoodbridge, VA
Costco (Kirkland Signature)$4.99About 3 lb$1.66PaidPer Consumer Reports, June 2026
BJ's (Wellsley Farms)$4.993 lb$1.66PaidWoodbridge, VA
Walmart$5.972.25 lb$2.65Nonewalmart.com listing
Target (sold cold, fully cooked)$5.9930 oz$3.19Nonetarget.com listing
H-E-B (Meal Simple)$6.47Not statedNoneVictoria, TX
Food Lion$6.99 ($5.99 on sale)28 oz$3.99NoneHalifax Rd store, VA
Kroger (Private Selection)$7.9932 oz$4.00NoneMechanicsville, VA
Giant Food$7.99 ($5.99 on sale)30 oz$4.26Nonegiantfood.com listing
Harris Teeter$7.99Not statedNoneNorthern Virginia store
Publix (delivery and curbside price)$8.85Not statedNoneIn-store price not published
Albertsons$8.99Not statedNoneBoise, ID
Whole Foods (online, chilled)$9.59About 1.75 lb$5.48Nonewholefoodsmarket.com listing
Safeway$9.99Not statedNoneOakland, CA
Wegmans$9.9934 oz$4.70NoneReston, VA
Sprouts$9.9925 oz$6.39NoneManassas, VA

Per-pound figures are calculated from the weight the retailer lists and are blank where no weight is published. Aldi does not sell a hot whole rotisserie chicken.

Rotisserie chicken is one of the cheapest sources of cooked protein in a grocery store, and the sticker price hides most of the difference: a $9.99 chicken at one store can weigh half as much as a $4.99 one at a warehouse club. For other ready-to-eat value, see the cheapest healthy meals index, ranked by protein per dollar, and the grocery sushi guide.

Questions people ask

Who has the cheapest rotisserie chicken?

The warehouse clubs: Sam's Club at $4.98 and Costco and BJ's at $4.99, each for a bird of about 3 pounds. All three require a paid membership. H-E-B's Hill Country Fare chicken is $4.97 with no membership, in Texas.

What is the cheapest rotisserie chicken without a membership?

Walmart at $5.97 for 2.25 pounds is the cheapest that is available nationwide. In Texas, H-E-B's Hill Country Fare chicken is $4.97. Target sells a fully cooked chicken for $5.99, but it is refrigerated, not hot.

Is Costco's rotisserie chicken still $4.99?

Yes, by the most recent reporting: Consumer Reports listed it at $4.99 for about 3 pounds in June 2026. Costco does not show the price on its website, so this is the one number here that was not read from the retailer's own page.

Which store gives the most chicken for the money?

The warehouse clubs, at about $1.66 a pound. Among regular supermarkets with a listed weight, Walmart is $2.65 a pound, Food Lion about $4, Kroger $4, Giant Food $4.26 and Wegmans $4.70. Sprouts is the most expensive per pound at about $6.39.

Are there discount days for rotisserie chicken?

Whole Foods takes $2 off on Tuesdays, but only for Amazon Prime members, in store, in an offer window listed through October 6, 2026. Safeway's $5 Friday lineup rotates and did not include rotisserie chicken in the ads checked this week. Reports of a Kroger chicken Thursday could not be confirmed on an official page.

Why is the same chicken a different price at another store?

Supermarkets price by store and division. Safeway was $9.99 in Oakland while Albertsons, the same company, was $8.99 in Boise. Set your own store on the retailer's site to see the price near you.

How DailyBite verifies this: the daily refresh re-checks each weekly grocery deal against the store's own site, weekly ad or FAQ, and the owner tests deals in person. Prices vary by store and division, and counters sell out: the price you pay is the one on the shelf tag that day.